wmbr phone or text: 617.253.8810
listen: hi : med : lo
Sat 5:42 AM : 88.1 fm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The WMBR Noise/Experimental Music Concert Report

  • Sunday, February 26:
    • Enduser, Shitmat, State Vector Collapse, Kurt Snell, & Darryl Hell - AS220, Providence, 9 pm

  • Tuesday, February 28:
    • Revolutionary Snake Ensemble Mardi Gras Party with special guests Charles Neville and Henri Smith - Regattabar, 7:30 pm

  • Thursday, March 2:
    • Hi-Speed Coeds (Andrew Neumann / Luther Grey / Forbes Graham) - Outpost186, 8 pm
    • XFest Pre-Show with Walter Wright, Al Margolis, Claire Barrett, & others - SMFA, 7-10 pm

  • Friday, March 3:
    • Cellist Maya Beiser and a 60 piece orchestra perform Evan Ziporyn's new arrangement of David Bowie's Blackstar album as well as Erik Satie’s 80 Gymnopedies and Ziporyn’s Frog’s Eye - MIT Kresge Auditorium, 7:30 pm, more info

  • Friday, March 3:
    • Fromm Players and Talea Ensemble perform works by George Lewis, Gerard Grisey, & James Dillon - John Knowles Paine Concert Hall, Harvard University, free!

  • Saturday, March 4:
    • Fromm Players and Talea Ensemble perform works by Brian Ferneyhough, Rand Steiger, Liza Lim, & Hans Tutschku - John Knowles Paine Concert Hall, Harvard University, free!
    • Equilibrium Concert Series presents Sound Energy and Transient Canvas: A concert featuring new works by Tamar Diesendruck, Lainie Fefferman and Emily Koh, as well as pieces by John Aylward, Clara Iannotta, Daniel T. Lewis, Stefanie Lubkowski, Iannis Xenakis, & Peter Van Zandt Lane - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

Coming Up...

  • Tuesday, March 7:
    • Callithumpian Consort - Lilypad, 9 pm

  • Wednesday, March 8:
    • [Through 9/5/2017] Listen Hear: The Art of Sound exhibition - Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

  • Thursday, March 9:
    • WMBR and the List Visual Arts Center present the Ampersand concert series featuring Miles Okazaki and RAJAS - MIT Bartos Theater, 8 pm
    • Hub New Music presents Blue with performances of Evan Ziporyn's Thread and Laura Kaminsky's the Full Range of Blue - Museum of Fine Arts, 6-8 pm

  • Friday, March 10:
    • E, Gary War, Violet Nox, & Audrey Harper - Lilypad, 9 pm

  • Saturday, March 11:
    • Tanya Tagaq presents Nanook of the North - Museum of Fine Arts, 7:30-9:30 pm

  • Monday, March 13:
    • Glenn Jones, Laura Baird, & LaRochelle - AS220, Providence, 8:30 pm, free!

  • Tuesday, March 14:

  • Thursday, March 16:
    • Sunn O))), & Big Brave - Coolidge Corner Theatre, more info

  • Saturday, March 18:
    • Alloy Orchestra performs a live soundtrack for the silent films The Black Pirate and Variete - Somerville Theatre, 4 pm and 8 pm

  • Saturday, March 25:
    • Sonorium presents: Caroline Park, Matt Krefting and Bill Nace Duo, Ice Joke, & Id M Theft Able - Gallows Hill Theatre, 7 Lynde St, Salem, 8 pm
    • Open Sound presents: String Noise, & Kevin Frenette Trio - Third Life Studio, 8 pm
    • Open Sound presents: Pauline Kim Harris, Kevin Frenette Trio, & and a performance of Teach Yourself to Fly by Pauline Oliveros - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

  • Wednesday, March 29:
    • Animal Hospital, Living Body, Nightime Sunshine, & Gun Mother - O'Brien's Pub, 8 pm

  • Thursday, March 30:
    • Sandy Ewen / Damon Smith / Weasel Walter and Jeb Bishop - Outpost186, 8 pm

  • Sunday, April 2:
    • Six Organs of Admittance, Minibeast, & Alosi Den - Great Scott

  • Friday, April 7:
    • Open Sound presents: The City of Tomorrow, Marti Epstein, & Variant State - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

  • Tuesday, April 11:
    • Non-Event presents: Wendy Eisenberg - Cafe Fixe, 7 pm

  • Thursday, April 13:
    • Talea Ensemble performs music by Gerard Grisey, Joshua Fineberg, & Tristan Murail - Boston ICA, 8 pm

  • Friday, April 14:
    • Tinariwen - The Royale, 7 pm
    • Le Mystere des Voix Bulgares - Somerville Theatre, 8 pm
    • Xiu Xiu, & Lilith - 3S Artspace, Portsmouth, NH, 8 pm

  • Saturday, April 15:
    • Xiu Xiu - The Hardcore Stadium (Cambridge Elks Lodge), Cambridge
    • Bonnie Whiting album release party with opening performances by Maria Finkelmeier and Greg Jukes - Lilypad, 7:30 pm

  • Sunday, April 16:
    • Zakir Hussain and Rahul Sharma - Sanders Theatre at Harvard University, 7:30 pm

  • Monday, April 17:
    • Non-Event presents: Ben Owen, & Jason Kahn - SMFA Library, 8 pm

  • Thursday, April 27:
    • Arto Lindsay, & Beauty Pill - Once, 8 pm

  • Friday, April 28:
    • Mono (from Japan), & Holy Sons - 3S Artspace, Portsmouth, NH, 8 pm

  • Sunday, April 30:
    • Open Sound presents: Wendy Roichman, Inedit, & Rested Field - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

  • Wednesday, May 17:
    • Amanda Palmer, & Edward Ka-Spel (of the Legendary Pink Dots) - Middle East Downstairs

  • Saturday, June 3:
    • Open Sound presents: Viola Yip, Kirsten Volness, & Cobra (by John Zorn) - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

  • Thursday, June 8:
    • Bastard Noise, Dropdead, Jarhead Fertilizer, Sickness, & Horrible Earth - Middle East Upstairs

  • Saturday, June 10:
    • Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Wang Theatre

  • Wednesday, June 21:
    • Open Sound presents: A special 100 person outside performance of John Cage's Variations III for Make Music Day! - TBA

Please Note:
  • Addresses of many Boston area clubs can be found here.
  • Local bands are only listed the week of the show.
  • Additions, changes and corrections for rock/pop/punk shows only can be made by writing to: rock-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming roots/americana/blues/cajun/zydeco shows, please use the address: roots-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming Jazz shows, please use the address: jazz-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming World Music shows, please use the address: world-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about Any Other music shows, please use the address: other-listings email address
Massachvsetts Institvte of Technology ® WMBR is a registered servicemark of the Technology Broadcasting Corporation.  Contact WMBR