wmbr phone or text: 617.253.8810
listen: hi : med : lo
Sun 3:10 AM : 88.1 fm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The WMBR Noise/Experimental Music Concert Report

  • Sunday, April 9:

  • Tuesday, September 5:

  • Tuesday, April 11:

  • Thursday, April 13:
    • Talea Ensemble performs music by Gerard Grisey, Joshua Fineberg, & Tristan Murail - Boston ICA, 8 pm
    • Frank Hurricane, Glenn Jones, Jewel Eye, & Allysen Callery - Blue Bag Records, Cambridge, 7-11 pm

  • Friday, April 14:
    • Tinariwen, & Dengue Fever - The Royale, 7 pm
    • Le Mystere des Voix Bulgares - Somerville Theatre, 8 pm
    • Xiu Xiu, & Lilith - 3S Artspace, Portsmouth, NH, 8 pm

  • Saturday, April 15:
    • Xiu Xiu - The Hardcore Stadium (Cambridge Elks Lodge), Cambridge
    • Bonnie Whiting album release party with opening performances by Maria Finkelmeier and Greg Jukes - Lilypad, 7:30 pm

  • Sunday, April 16:
    • Zakir Hussain and Rahul Sharma - Sanders Theatre at Harvard University, 7:30 pm

Coming Up...

  • Monday, April 17:
    • Non-Event presents: Ben Owen, Jason Kahn, & Sarah Ayotomiwa Pitan - SMFA Library, 8 pm

  • Tuesday, April 18:
    • Homeworld, Final Boss, FRKSE, & Market Basket - Studio@550, more info

  • Wednesday, April 19:
    • Non-Event presents: Material Dialogues, & an artist talk by Jason Sanford - Le Laboratoire Cambridge, 6:30 pm, free with RSVP

  • Thursday, April 20:
    • Bonn Hoeren: Urban Sound Art Since 2010 - Goethe-Institut Boston, 7 pm, free
    • Callithumpian Consort presents Potato Face Blind Man: Performances of music by Halka, Carter, Hyla, Wolff, & Eastman - Williams Hall at New England Conservatory, 8 pm, free!

  • Friday, April 21:
    • Dreamscape #10: Substrates, Solei, Cloth and Aly Pierce, Ominous Descent, Meta Mora, & Midisexual - Hope Central Church, Jamaica Plain, 7:30 pm

  • Saturday, April 22:
    • Harvard Group for New Music: Faint Noise performs new works by Harvard composers - John Knowles Paine Concert Hall at Harvard University, 8 pm, free!

  • Sunday, April 23:
    • Joe McPhee, Jeb Bishop, Damon Smith, & Ra-Kalam Bob Moses - Outpost186, 8 pm

  • Thursday, April 27:
    • Arto Lindsay, & Beauty Pill - Once, 8 pm

  • Friday, April 28:
    • Mono (from Japan), & Holy Sons - 3S Artspace, Portsmouth, NH, 8 pm

  • Saturday, April 29:
    • Non-Event presents: Ordinary Affects performs music performed by Luke Martin - Goethe-Institut Boston, 8 pm
    • Bastian Void, Curved Light, Timothy Fife, & Prone - Studio@550

  • Sunday, April 30:
    • The Magic of Java: A contemporary performance based on The Magic Flute featuring intricate leather puppets and the sonorous gong-chime instruments of Harvard's Javanese-style gamelan orchestra Gamelan Si Betty - Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology at Harvard University, 2 pm, free!
    • Open Sound presents: Wendy Roichman, Inedit, & Rested Field - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

  • Tuesday, May 9:
    • Non-Event presents: Moondrawn - Cafe Fixe, 7 pm

  • Thursday, May 11:
    • Swarm: A roving performance piece for musicians, dancers, and audience-responsive electronics based on themes of insect breeding swarms (mayflies), environmental degradation, & rebirth - Museum of Fine Arts, 6-8 pm, free with museum admission

  • Wednesday, May 17:
    • Amanda Palmer, & Edward Ka-Spel (of the Legendary Pink Dots) - Middle East Downstairs

  • Thursday, May 18:

  • Saturday, June 3:
    • Open Sound presents: Viola Yip, Kirsten Volness, & Cobra (by John Zorn) - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

  • Thursday, June 8:
    • Bastard Noise, Dropdead, Jarhead Fertilizer, Sickness, & Horrible Earth - Middle East Upstairs

  • Saturday, June 10:
    • Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Wang Theatre

  • Wednesday, June 21:
    • Open Sound presents: A special 100 person outside performance of John Cage's Variations III for Make Music Day! - TBA

  • Saturday, July 15:

Please Note:
  • Addresses of many Boston area clubs can be found here.
  • Local bands are only listed the week of the show.
  • Additions, changes and corrections for rock/pop/punk shows only can be made by writing to: rock-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming roots/americana/blues/cajun/zydeco shows, please use the address: roots-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming Jazz shows, please use the address: jazz-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming World Music shows, please use the address: world-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about Any Other music shows, please use the address: other-listings email address
Massachvsetts Institvte of Technology ® WMBR is a registered servicemark of the Technology Broadcasting Corporation.  Contact WMBR