wmbr
Listen to WMBR
Text us at 617-253-8810
Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Instagram
88.1 fm
staff only

The WMBR Rock/Pop/Punk Concert Report

Friday, Aug. 19
• Key of Caustic, Flightless, Minx, and Space Casino - Middle East Upstairs
• 5ever, Gollylagging, Cinema Stare, and Mikie Mayo - O'Briens
• Nasty Habits - Midway [10PM]
• The Shirts and Shoes, Bad Mothers, Paper Tigers, and The Roscoes - Jungle
• Zip Tie Handcuffs, and The Lebarons - Faces Brewing, Malden, MA
• Cirith Ungol, Warhorse, and Sanhedrin - Columbus Theatre, Providence, RI
• All Out War, Ringworm, and Edict - Alchemy, Providence, RI
Saturday, Aug. 20
• Matt Michienzie - Middle East Upstairs
• TVO, DeStructos, Human Ignorance, Reckoning Force, and Pledge Pins - O'Briens
• The Uptight Cavalry, Topanga Breakfast, Henry McInture, and more - Midway Cafe all ages [3PM]
• Nuclear Bootz, Mercury on Mars, and The Never Ends - Midway Cafe 21+ [9PM]
• Further Notice, Kid Disaster, The Big Nest, and Marie Carroll - Jungle
• Boat cruise w/ The Dogmatics, Barrence Whitfield, and Stop Calling Me Frank - Rowes Wharf [3:30 boarding]
• The Fleshtones, Glider, and Tiger Bomb - Magic Room, Norwood
• In Between Days fest w/, Manchester Orchestra, Tennis, and Kevin Devine & more - Veterans Memorial Stadium, Quincy
Sunday, Aug. 21
• The Sebastions, Vincent James Gallo, and Willcody - Middle East Upstairs
• North by North, Ski Club, Little Fuss, and Lurid Purple Flowers - O'Briens
• Voice of Addiction, Brix n Mortar, Blame It On Whitman, and Color Killer - Midway all ages [3PM]
• The Decemberists, and Jake Xerxes Fussell - Roadrunner
Monday, Aug. 22
• Brady, Cherished, Husbands, and Storax Sedan - O'Briens
• Michael Dunaway, Joe Resnek, Leisure, and more - Midway Cafe
• Los Camposinos, and Proper - Sinclair
• Everfiner, Threat Level Burgundy, and See You at Roger's - Charlie's Kitchen
• Baabes, Miracle Blood, and The Endorphins - Silhouette Lounge, Allston
Tuesday, Aug. 23
• The Lincoln Sound Experiment, Golly Geewillikers, and Lonelyisaneyesore - Middle East Upstairs
• Latchkey Kids, Sweet Petunia, Bicycle Inn, and Addie - O'Briens
• Greenwood Fire, and Trucks - Midway Cafe
• Peter Hook & the Light - Paradise
Wednesday, Aug. 24
• Alex & the People, Rootiger, Pain Management Group, and Thai Zero - Middle East Upstairs
• The Croaks, Bricklayer, and Godscow - O'Briens
Thursday, Aug. 25
• The Collection, and Begonia - Middle East Upstairs
• Motel Black, Little Fuss, and The Daylillies - Notch Brighton @ The Charles River Speedway [7PM, free]
Friday, Aug. 26
• Karate Steve, Plague of Carcosa, Northstar the Wanderer, and Voidkeeper - Middle East Upstairs
• Tossed Aside, Unhinge, Constituents, and Rue - O'Briens
• Clamb, City of Four, and Lon - Midway Cafe [10PM]
• Stöner, Mario Lalli & the Rubber Snake Charmers, and Mother Iron Horse - Sonia
• Sleigh Bells - Paradise
• Kepi Ghoulie, Bad Idea USA, and Adult Learners - Faces Brewing, Malden, MA
• Worshipper, Lesser Glow, Blood Built Empire, and The Guilloteenagers - Bone Up Brewery, Everett [5-11]
• Ace Frehley - Cabot Theater, Beverly, MA
• The FU's, Worm, Kermit's Finger, and Rockin Bob Punk Band - C-Note, Hull
Saturday, Aug. 27
• Nascar Aloe, and Dirty Butt - Middle East Upstairs
• Octonomy, Khadija, Solid State Entity, and Biproduct - O'Briens
• Phantom Ocean, Orbiter, Minusworld, and Thrust Club - Midway Cafe all ages [3PM]
• Neighborhood Sh*t, Dead Low, Jerry's Got Jokes, and more - Midway Cafe 21+ [9PM]
• The Shins, and Joseph - Roadrunner
• Skytigers, The Weisstronauts, DNA's Evolution, and more - Bone Up Brewery [12-11]
• Anthrax, Hatebreed, Municipal Waste, and more - Palladium, Worcester, MA all ages [1PM outdoors]
Sunday, Aug. 28
• Fuci, Oxygen Destroyer, Torn in Half, and Bonginator - Middle East Upstairs
• Broken Vanity, Saint Throaway, The Love Shaman, and Dex God - O'Briens
• Malice in Wonderland, and Always Manic - Midway Cafe all ages [3PM]
• Sunken City, Blue Manic , and more - Bone Up Brewing [12-8]
• Interpol, and Spoon - Bold Point Pavilion, Prov
Monday, Aug. 29
• Post Sex Nachos, and Similar Kind - Middle East Upstairs
• Bad Faith Actor, Vogue Memory, and Penitence - O'Briens
• Shortest Life, Bed of Razors, Beyond Agitated, and Blast Shield - Midway Cafe
• Blondie, and The Damned - The Pavilion [(rescheduled from 8/14)]
• Bad History Month, The Calendars, and Proper Nouns - Charlie's Kitchen
Tuesday, Aug. 30
• Cosmic Blossom, Dank Sinatra, Who I Am, and Pairadise - Middle East Upstairs
• The Pauses, Clifford, and Trophy Wife - O'Briens
• Bomb Pack, and Dan Raney - Midway Cafe
• Marigold, Lake Saint Daniel, and Noble Dust - O'Briens
Wednesday, Aug. 31
• FEEP, Squash, We Broke the Weather, and Artist Jackie's Face Eraser - Midway Cafe
• Built to Spill - Paradise
Thursday, Sep. 1
• Your Spirit Dies, Age of Panic, Adrienne, and more - Middle East Upstairs
• Laveda, Paper Lady, and Christian Pace - O'Briens
• Shanghi Lo's, Rockin Bob Punk Band, and Hall Monitor - Notch Brighton @ The Charles River Speedway [7PM, free]
• The Woggles, Thee Itchies, and Graham Day - Dusk, Providence, RI
Friday, Sep. 2
• Solar Fake, Whorticulture, and Triangle Forest - Middle East Upstairs
• Broken Vow, Take It to Heart, End on End, and Anklebiter - O'Briens
• Pianos Become the Teeth - Sonia
• The Woggles, Muck & the Mires, and The Chelsea Curve - The Porch, Medford, MA
Saturday, Sep. 3
• Human Issue, Doc Hammer, and Anxious Wave - Middle East Upstairs
• Illiterates, PCP & the Knives, and Boiling Point - O'Briens
• The Roland High Life, Superuser, Honey Eyes, and Uma Thermos - Midway Cafe all ages [3PM]
• Thalia Zedek, Motel Black, Crow Follow, and Gretchen Shae - Midway Cafe 21+ [9PM]
• Boris, and Nothing - Paradise
Sunday, Sep. 4
• Act Natural, Spell Jordan, and Jackie Platinum - Middle East Upstairs
• Vicky Farewell, and Jared Mattson - O'Briens
• Martin/Morell/Fredette - Midway Cafe all ages [3PM]
Monday, Sep. 5
• Tatooine Punk Scsne, Dutch Tulips, and I Wish I Could Skateboard - Charlie's Kitchen
Tuesday, Sep. 6
• Suffering Hour, Hissing, and Aeviturne - Middle East Upstairs
• Earthless - Middle East Downstairs
Wednesday, Sep. 7
• Health, and Perturbator - Paradise
• Butcher Babies, Uncured, and Lions at the Gate - Sonia
• Neko Case, and Sean Rowe - Colonial Theater [7PM]
Thursday, Sep. 8
• Guttermouth, The FU's, Wimpy Rutherford, and Baabes - Middle East Upstairs
Friday, Sep. 9
• Thick, Skating Polly, and Bad Waitress - Brighton Music Hall
• Boy George & Culture Club - Chevalier Theatre, Medford, MA
• Rammstein - Gilette Stadium
Saturday, Sep. 10
• Elder, and Belzbong - Middle East Downstairs
• Movements, Angel Du$t, One Step Closer, and Snarls - Royale all ages [6PM]
• JP Musicfest - Parkman Field, JP [noon-7]
• Cold Expectations, Justine & the Unclean, Andrea Gillis, and more - Revolution Hall, Lexington [noon]
Sunday, Sep. 11
• King Khan & BBQ Show, and Miranda & the Beat - Brighton Music Hall
• Airbourne, and The Native Howl - Paradise
Monday, Sep. 12
• Sounds & Scenarios, Jared Knapik, and Perfect Saturday - Charlie's Kitchen
• Nice Guys, G Gordon Gritty, and Bradford Barker - Silhouette Lounge, Allston
• Ghost, Mastodon, and Spiritbox - Dunkin Donuts Center, Prov
Tuesday, Sep. 13
• Phoenix, and Porches - Roadrunner
• Bauhaus - MGM Music Hall
Wednesday, Sep. 14
• Quivers - O'Briens
• Front 242 - Paradise
• Mom Jeans - House of Blues
Thursday, Sep. 15
• My Morning Jacket - The Pavilion
• Richard Thompson - Natick Center for the Arts
• Alejandro Escovedo - Bull Run, Shirley, MA
Saturday, Sep. 17
• Afghan Whigs, and Pink Mountaintops - Paradise
• Anti-Flag, Rebuilder, and Mint Green - Brighton Music Hall all ages [4PM]
• Anti-Flag, and Brendan Kelly - Brighton Music Hall 18+ [9PM]
• Actors, House of Harm, and Digital - Sonia
• Idles, and Injury Reserve - Roadrunner
• Roxy Music 50th anniv. - TD Garden
Sunday, Sep. 18
• The Felice Brothers - Brighton Music Hall
• Dream Syndicate - Crystal Ballroom @Somerville Theatre all ages
• Heaven 17 - City Winery
Monday, Sep. 19
• Enter Shakari, Trash Boat, and Aviva - Brighton Music Hall
• Southern Culture on the Skids - Sonia
• Pet Shop Boys, and New Order - The Pavilion
Tuesday, Sep. 20
• Spiritualized - Royale
Wednesday, Sep. 21
• Andrew WK - Paradise
• Echo and the Bunnymen - House of Blues
• Osees, and Bronze - Royale
Friday, Sep. 23
• Glenn Tilbrook - City Winery
• Soulside, and Verbal Assault - Once at the Armory
Saturday, Sep. 24
• Supersuckes, Speedealer, and White Dynomite - Middle East Upstairs
• The Get Up Kids, and Sparta - Brighton Music Hall
• NOFX, Descendents, Face to Face, TSOL, Night Birds, and No Trigger - Palladium, Worcester, MA [1PM outdoors]
Sunday, Sep. 25
• Come, and Home Despot - Middle East Upstairs
• Amyl & the Sniffers - Big Night Live
Wednesday, Sep. 28
• Pavement - Boch Center/Wang Theatre
Thursday, Sep. 29
• Japanese Breakfast, and Yo La Tengo - Roadrunner all ages [8PM]
Saturday, Oct. 1
• Mars Volta - MGM Music Hall
Monday, Oct. 3
• Wednesday 13, and Soft Touch Mechanism - Sonia
Tuesday, Oct. 4
• Stereolab - Roadrunner
Wednesday, Oct. 5
• Blood Incantation, Full of Hell, God is War, and more - Middle East Downstairs
Thursday, Oct. 6
• Fontaines DC - House of Blues
Sunday, Oct. 9
• L7 - Big Night Live
Tuesday, Oct. 11
• Lion's Law, and Violent Way - Sonia
• Agent Orange, and Midnight Creeps - Alchemy, Providence, RI
Wednesday, Oct. 12
• The Mission, The Chameleons, and Theatre of Hate - Brighton Music Hall
• KMFDM, and Chant - Paradise
Friday, Oct. 14
• Black Angels, and Vacant Lots - Paradise
Saturday, Oct. 15
• Razors in the Night, The Fake Boys, Skytigers, and more - Thirsty First, Lowell
Saturday, Oct. 15 - Sunday, Oct. 16
• Violent Femmes - Paradise
Sunday, Oct. 16
• Judas Priest - MGM Music Hall
Monday, Oct. 17
• Iron Maiden - DCU Center, Worc.
Wednesday, Oct. 19
• The Toadies, and Rev. Horton Heat - Paradise
Thursday, Oct. 20
• June of 44 - Middle East Downstairs
• Lucero - Paradise
Saturday, Oct. 22
• Napalm Death, Brujeria, Frozen Soul, and MDC - Paradise
Sunday, Oct. 23
• Dead Boys, The Briefs, and Suzi Moon - Alchemy, Providence, RI
Tuesday, Oct. 25 - Wednesday, Oct. 26
• Calexico, and Ada Lea - Sinclair 18+ [7pm Doors]
Wednesday, Oct. 26
Friday, Oct. 28
• Fidlar - Paradise
Please Note:
  • Addresses of many Boston area clubs can be found here.
  • Local bands are only listed the week of the show.
  • Additions, changes and corrections for rock/pop/punk shows only can be made by writing to: rock-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming roots/americana/blues/cajun/zydeco shows, please use the address: roots-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming Jazz shows, please use the address: jazz-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming World Music shows, please use the address: world-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about Any Other music shows, please use the address: other-listings email address
© WMBR is a registered servicemark of the Technology Broadcasting Corporation. Massachvsetts Institvte of Technology Contact WMBR